Posted by: animekid | October 7, 2006

That Job Interview

Several posts ago, I had mentioned that I had a job interview to take at my place of business for a new ( and better ) position in the ” Purchasing Department “.

I had come to work on a Monday, and I noticed this job posting for a position in our Purchasing Department. Needless to say, I was looking for a new position due to my total hatred for what I was presently doing in my company, and would gladly welcome a change.

Needless to say, I approached this interview with alot of trepidation.

First, when I spoke with our Human Resources person and told her I wanted to apply for the position, she almost pulled a ” Regan McNeil “possessed demon 360 degree head-spin.

I guess, she was a little surprised at this blucollar guy thinking he actually had the smarts to do this job, or at least that was my perception at the time.

I was asked if I had a resume, to which I replied  ” no, but it wouldn’t take me long to put one together ” to which she replied fine.

The interview was about two days later. The gentleman in charge of purchasing is just a very  ( in my opinion anyway ) very nice and easy going person. I should probably mention his name. Bob. Yes that’s all I will let out about Bob.

Bob has known me for better than eight years now and had quite frankly felt that I would have been a better fit in the ” Planning ” department of my company, due to my ten years of compounding experience. And while there had been a few openings in that department over the past several years, I was never offered a chance to apply.

I gave Bob my half page resume, while he looked it over with a cursury eye, he informed me that this was not even necessary, that he knew all about me, and that he felt my abilities were never really utilized in the company.

He approached me later the same day and said that he wanted to try me upstairs for a day or two to see what I thought of the job.

As it turns out, I loved the job. I would have liked anything that would allow me to use my brain just a little and a PC.

I got the job, and I start this Monday. This is the first time in several years that I can say, I am actually looking forward to getting up and going to work.

Who would have thought this possible. I certainly did not.

Leave a Reply

Categories

