Posted by: animekid | August 11, 2007

The Summer of my Discontent..The First of Many Posts.

Post-The First

First, I haven’t posted here for a long while, because I have started and have regularly posted on my other main blog, Fanboy@50. But if you have read a post or more there lately, you know of my Mother’s illness, and her extended stay at a hospital in Brooklyn.

Well, after several posts there, I felt that I needed to write about my situation here instead.

I made the trip again to the hospital in Brooklyn today, and saw my mother, again on the vent unit. A vent unit that I am partially responsible for her being on in the first place, thus my enduring guilt over her being on this breathing apparatus that is either helping her breath, or doing the breathing for her, dependant on how strong she might be feeling and how strong her lungs are.

I really need to go back in time, to really give you, the reader of this post some back history…

I was born on July 25th, 1957, in ….you guessed it…Brooklyn, NY.

Okay, now we skip forward 48 years in my future to July 2005.

My birthday that year fell on a Monday.

It also was the day that my father had to go into the hospital where I live for some tests. The hospital was not able to find anything wrong with my dad.

I drove my parents back to their house, and had to help my dad walk up our front steps. As we were walking up the steps, my dad turned to me, crying and said to me ” Lewie, what am I going to do? ”

I remember telling my dad, that we will get thru this together as a family. Two days later, Wednesday, the 27th of July, I was diagnosed with COPD, or Cardio Obstructive Pulmonary Disease.

I went to my parents home to tell them what had happened. My parents were upset about the diagnosis, both I told them both that it was early stage, and was treatable.

Thursday, July 28th, I got a call from my Mom at 6am…she was taking my Dad back to the hospital upon his asking her to call for an ambulance.

This time, Dad was admitted into the hospital.

My Dad would not leave there again.

The day of my birthday, when we were at the hospital, my dad had asked me to make sure that I always take care of my mother, and I told him not to worry about that, not realizing that maybe he had an inkling that he would not be with us much longer….

End of Post The First

Leave a Reply

Categories

