Posted by: animekid | August 18, 2007

The Summer of my Discontent…Rest In Peace Mom

Yesterday, my family and friends gathered to say goodbye to my Mother Jeannette Scozzari.

Yesterday was full of tears, sorrow, regret, and remembrance.

Again, I was disappointed by the people who were not present, but that is something that I will not dwell on further.

The service was beautiful.

The cantor said nice things in describing my mother, my cousin Randy had written a poem for mom which was very moving.

For my part, I tried to speak without breaking down, which of course did not happen. I spoke of my remembrances of mom with a heart full of joy and sorrow, and at certain moments actually made everyone smile with my reference to mom’s Ebay searches of my cousin’s Randy and Beth’s listings.

For anyone reading this post either family or friend, I want to share again the prayer card I had chosen for mom, which for myself, has given me alot of solace…

Fill not your hearts with pain and sorrow, but remember me in every tomorrow. Remember the joy, the laughter, the smiles, I’ve only gone to rest a little while. Although my leaving causes pain and grief, my going has eased my hurt and given me relief. So dry your eyes and remember me, not as I am now, but as I used to be. Because I will remember you all and look on with a smile. Understand, in your hearts, I’ve only gone to rest a little while. As long as I have the love of each of you, I can live my life in the hearts of all of you.

Today is a new day, with the wind and a chill in the air, unusual for an August day.

The sound of a football practice whistle is blowing in the distance, and I think of my mom today with Lot’s of love and lots of joy.

My life will continue, and so also my mom’s journey.

Her spirit is free, and while I have some sadness for some things I was never able to share with her, what I did share was my love for her, of which I knew she felt untill the end.

And as I have before, in the past, I will look towards the heavens again, and cry and smile a little, looking for a glimpse or a sign, all the while hoping that she is just resting for a little while.

Leave a Reply

Categories

